An Idea Too Late

As a member of the book-buying community, I constantly run across the dilemma of “lots of books, little space”. Several of these books I have never read. I blame this awesome thing that Baltimore has called “The Book Thing”. Basically, it’s a free bookstore. You drop off books you don’t want, you pick up books you do. Because of this, I will go in with suitcases and come out with pretty much all the books.

There are books I do love, though, and that I constantly want to reread. This causes a problem when I need to sort through my books and get rid of the ones I don’t like. It does get tiring though, opening up new books and being severly disappointed. I’ve been throwing the occasional reread, but I’ve recently decided to go off my “must get rid of books” agenda in order to reread all of my Chuck Palahniuk books.

Chances are, if you haven’t heard of Chuck Palahniuk, you’re just ignorant of the fact that Fight Club was a book. Yes, it was indeed a wonderful book written by my favorite author. And if you thought the movie was odd, wait until you read the book. In one of my favorite lines, “We’re sleeping in a car tonight because Marla came to the house and threatened to call the police and have me arrested for cooking her mother.” It’s a really intense book, and the book itself focuses more on the narrator and less on Marla.

Also, I just found out THAT CHUCK PALAHNIUK’S TALKING ABOUT WRITING A SEQUEL TO FIGHT CLUB. HOLY SHIT, HOLY SHIT, I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M FEELING RIGHT NOW.

Okay, I’m composed again. This post isn’t about Fight Club anyway. That comes later. This post is about what you can expect from my reading adventures. If you’ve seen Fight Club, you know how “quotable” it is. Well, all of Palahniuk’s fiction books are like that, not just Fight Club. I just finished Invisible Monsters today, my personal favorite of his. What I want to start doing is every time I finish a book, I want to post my favorite quotes. Unfortunately, I didn’t think of this until halfway through my reread. Uh oh. Well, I can still give you a few of my favorites.

Let me tell you about this book first though. You need to understand the genius. When I was younger, I read books for shock factor. 10 year olds shouldn’t be reading Dreamcatcher by Stephen King, but I did. Alive, a true story based on a terrible plane crash that ended in cannibalism, is really just a book no one should read, but I did. When Invisible Monsters was described to me by a friend, it fit my repertoire and I knew I had to get my hands on it.

Caution, the next sentence contains some serious spoilers. 

“It’s a story about a girl who shoots her face off. And her brother is a girl who also is in love with her.”

Is your interest peaked yet? It should be.

I don’t want to go into too much detail about this book because the more I say, the more I’ll give away. I will say that my favorite scene is where the three main characters are on top of the Seattle Space Needle and they’re writing secrets on postcards and sending them “into the past”, as Shannon puts it. My favorite quote comes from that, and I want to send it to someone on a postcard, not signed. It’s a silly dream, but it’s mine nonetheless.

“The one you love and the one who loves you are never, ever the same person.”

 

Leave a Reply

