Ahhh, Resolutions

Now that Christmas is kind of over (For me, that’s one Christmas down, three more to go), it’s time to make the yearly post about resolutions. Some people make them just for fun, while others, like myself, take them seriously. Last year, I started a blog (another failed blog, for the record) where I kept track of them and my progress. It actually went really well, and though the blog didn’t make it, I managed to score on more than half of them. I’ve actually been feeling pretty self-accomplished lately. Some of my resolutions achieved:

-Go to a new state. Originally, it was “Go to Utah”, but I changed it to see a new state. Every year, I want to go someplace new, so this is a repeat resolution. This year, I managed two states. I went to Illinois, and to get there, I drove through Indiana.

-Read 100 books. I started keeping track of every book I read, but I lost track. I feel like I accomplished this, but who can really say? I did count comic books, so I’m 90% sure I accomplished this. This year, I’m not counting comics, so I changed the number to 50 books.

-Go on a date. I had never actually been on that awkward first date before, so I got an online dating profile and went on my first real date. We didn’t have anything in common and it was certainly awkward, but I did it and this is definitely a big one for me!

-Get published. This one wasn’t accomplished, but I’m allowing it to pass into accomplished. I had my first photography showcase, so that’s not publishing, but it is something, right?

-Get a new apartment.

 

Now, let’s take a few moments of silence for the resolutions that didn’t come to pass:

-Lose weight. Every year, this is my resolution. Every year, nothing happens.

-Take a picture every day for 365 days. I had a good start on this, but when my friend who took the challenge with me fell off, I did as well.

-Watch 100 movies. This resolution is too much of a waste of time. You won’t be seeing this one again.

-Get a new vehicle. This is two years now that this resolution hasn’t come to pass.

 

Out with the old, in with the new. It’s time to see this year’s challenges, and I must say, I’m pretty excited to tackle them!!!

  • Get a therapist. This is a big one for me. It’s been several years since I saw someone professionally, and I think it’s time to go back. My second mother brought up that I might have intimacy issues, and that I know is certain and I’m not quite sure that I can work through that alone. I also have anxiety disorders that I would like to work on. I began looking for someone this year, and I think I found a perfect fit. I have to call and see if she accepts my insurance.
  • Lose weight. Ahhh, this returns. However, I think I did better this year than I have any other year. I hate to say that it’s time to get serious about this, because I’ve been serious about it in the past, but I think this upcoming year is going to be my best bet. I’ve also thought about getting a personal trainer. I’m having trouble concentrating on exercise along with my diet. It’s one or the other, and it needs to be both.
  • Visit a new state. I haven’t decided what state I’m going to yet. Maybe I’ll get lucky and have my friend fly me out to Colorado like she’s been saying.
  • Get a new tattoo. Every year, I want a new tattoo. This resolution is actually more than just this one though. I need to find a new tattoo artist. I need to get the ones I already have touched up. I already have my next tattoo picked out. It’s a pretty sick looking gas mask, for my urbexing.
  • Get published. And this time, I mean really published. It can be my photography or it can be my writing, I’m not picky.
  • Write a poem every day, no matter if it’s good or not.
  • Reconnect with some lost friends.
  • Buy a new vehicle. My car is on its last limbs, plus I want a car I bought, not one my dad bought for me.
  • Learn to budget. I am the absolute worst with saving money. This year, I’m changing things up!
  • Once a month, put myself out of my comfort zone. My comfort zone is actually pretty small, so this won’t be hard, but I have to enjoy myself, even if only slightly. I need to get past my anxiety, and this is my answer. These adventures will include: strip clubs, rock climbing, and large parties.
  • Read 50 books. I’ll be keeping a record on here of the books I’m reading. Comic books don’t count this year! And I’d rather it be books I haven’t read yet, but that’s not happening. Plus, this is more of a test to see how many books I do actually read in a year.
  • And finally, the resolution I’m most excited for: Buy 12 disposable cameras, label them, and fill one up per month. In 2015, develop the camera from 2014 in the month you’re currently in. You’ll be getting posts about this, definitely.

 

Exciting things will be happening in 2014! Here are some things I’ll be looking forward to:

-My brother, Sam, is graduating high school! On top of that, he’ll be turning 18 in February!

-Raises at work!

-Awesome Con DC 2014!

-Free Comic Book Day 2014!

-Halloween 2014!

-Turning 23!

-Baltimore Comic Con 2014!

-Baltimore Tattoo Convention 2014!

-Being more prepared for Christmas 2014!

-Buster and I in matching sweaters!

-New Say Anything album!

-Mother’s Day 2014!

-Artscape 2014!

-Warped Tour 2014!

-Fight Club 2!

 

What are your resolutions? What are you most excited about for 2014? Tell me about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

