Choke by Chuck Palahniuk

 

scan0010h

Two posts in one day? Preposterous! Well, it wouldn’t be this way if I haven’t been putting off certain posts, collecting information for other posts, and finish reading a book at the same time. I told you when I finished Invisible Monsters that this was going to start being a “feature”, I guess you could call it, on the blog.

Well, my second C.P. reread was finished on Christmas. Just an fyi, it’s definitely not appropriate to sit there and read about how Victor is grinding into someone’s ass while your dad is sitting ten feet away with his wife. This is hardly a family book.

The beauty of Choke is how perfect the title is. Victor fake-chokes himself to get money, or sponsors, I guess you could say. Victor’s sex addiction is choking out his ability to have a meaningful relationship. His life, his bills, are choking him. He ends up choking his mother. Such is the circle of life in this story.

Now, Choke was actually made into a movie (I own it, of course). It’s no Fight Club. There is definitely a reason why you don’t hear about the movie. It’s an odd book of his to do a movie about. I’d much rather see Rant as a movie (mostly because it just gets so confusing that a visual aide would be much appreciated).

Something that is interesting about Chuck Palahniuk’s books are that, at least the early ones, the books have catchphrases. Invisible Monster’s catchphrase was “Give me envy. Flash. Give me etc.” or “Sorry Mom, Sorry God.” For Fight Club, it’s “I am Jack’s smirking revenge, etc.” For Choke, it’s “Savior isn’t the right word, but it’s the first word that comes to mind, etc.”

I did mark the pages as I went through with quotes I liked. I didn’t get nearly as many as I thought I would, but then again, I merely like this book. We’re not exclusive and I certainly don’t love it. I would recommend it to people with tastes for the obscure.

“How torture is torture and humiliation is humiliation only when you choose to suffer.”

“After you find out all the things that can go wrong, your life becomes less about living and more about waiting. For cancer. For dementia. Every look in the mirror, you scan for the red rash that means shingles.”

“I fought against everything, but more and more I worry that I was never for anything.”

“We’ve spent so much time judging what other people created that we’ve created very, very little of our own.”

“I mean, how many times can everybody tell you that you’re the oppressive, prejudiced enemy before you give up and become the enemy.”

“We live and we die and anything else is just delusion.”

“Without access to true chaos, we’ll never have true peace.”

The next book I’m going to start of C.P.’s this week will be…..

drumroll please…..

…..

Lullaby! Tune in next time for “Favorite Quotes”!

Leave a Reply

