Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk

 

untitled

Well, another book down and three more to go before I can resume cleaning off my bookshelves. And I better hurry with that cause lately I’ve been on an Amazon spree. I just ordered The Starlight Crystal by Christopher Pike (Childish, but one of the most thought provoking books I’ve ever read) and I’ll be wanting to reread that as well, not to mention that I’ve been dying to go to The Book Thing again.

So, what is Lullaby, you’re asking yourself. This is a good question. Lullaby is odd, that’s for certain. It barely made it onto my “Ultimate Chuck Palahniuk” collection list. Lullaby is about a song/spell that kills people. So a whole bunch of people with different motives get the spell. Helen, she uses the spell for money. Nash, he uses the spell for sex. And Carl, he uses the spell because he can’t help himself (Every time I hear the name Carl, I think of “Carllll, that kills people.” In this case, that is a very accurate thing to think of.)

The “catchphrase” of this book is “These noise-oholics. These quiet-ophobics.” Right now, hearing my upstairs neighbor blast his stereo, I have to agree, though I am most certainly one of them.

So, here are the quotes that really stood out to me:

  • “Experts in ancient Greek culture say that people back then didn’t see their thoughts as belonging to them. When ancient Greeks had a thought, it occurred to them as a god or goddess giving an order. Apollo was telling them to be brave. Athena was telling them to fall in love. Now people hear a commercial for sour cream potato chips and rush out to buy, but now they call this free will. At least the ancient Greeks were being honest.”
  • “The more people die, the more things stay the same.”
  • “Doesn’t reincarnation strike you as just another form of procrastination?”
  • “Every place is the same place in the dark.”
  • “No matter how much you love someone, you still want to have your own way.”
  • “Every generation wants to be the last. Every generation hates the next trend in music they can’t understand. We hate to give up the reins of our culture. To find our own music playing in elevators. The ballad for our revolution, turned into background music for a television commercial. To find our generation’s clothes and hair suddenly retro.”
  • “I don’t know the difference between what I want and what I’m trained to want.”
  • “What I’m talking about is free will, Do we have it, or does God dictate and script everything we do and say and want? Do we have free will, or do the mass media and our culture control us, our desires and actions, from the moment we’re born?”

Stay tuned for the next book, Diary!

One thought on “Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. Pingback: X-Men: Dark Mirror by Marjorie M. Liu | Little Apartment, Big City

Leave a Reply

