Diary: A Novel by Chuck Palahniuk

 

22284

I finished this book a week ago and it’s taken me until now to post about it. My laziness factor has kicked up; ironically, I’ve been more physically active this week.

So this draws to an end my rereading of my CP collection. Not because I finished all the books I have of his, but just because I’m itching for some new reads.

So, Diary. You know the Panic! At The Disco song where they go, “Just for the record, the weather today is slightly sarcastic with a good chance of a) indifference or b) disinterest in what the critics say”? Well, that song is actually based of of Diary. Actually, that whole album has several Chuck Palahniuk references, which is just an awesome thing to have, to love a book and be able to listen to a song about it.

Anyway, “Just for the record, the weather today” is this book’s catchphrase.

This book is similar to the short story, The Lottery. This creepy island sacrifices this woman’s sanity and family in order for her to paint absolutely stunning pictures. Poor Misty, she’s every famous painter reincarnated, and the island keeps finding her latest reincarnation and making it suffer immensely.

Reading as many CP books as I have in a row, I’ve noticed a really annoying trait that all the main characters seem to have. When someone is talking, or when they’re talking, these people are having two different conversations because they’re not listening to each other. I know this is something we do in real life, but I think that may be my main reason for stopping the reread. I love CP, but apparently, his books shouldn’t be read in consecutive order.

Something I really love about this book is the ambiguous ending that suggests this may not be a fiction book. Maybe this book should be in the nonfiction section…..?

As for my favorite quotes:

  • “You have endless ways you can commit suicide without dying dying.”
  • “Everyone’s in their own personal coma.”
  • “What you don’t understand, you can make mean anything.”
  • “Money gives you permission to just walk away from everything that isn’t pretty and perfect.”
  • “The only thing an artist can do is describe his own face.”
  • “You can paint anything because the only real thing you ever reveal is yourself.”
  • “According to Plato, we don’t learn anything. Our soul has lived so many lives that we know everything. Teachers and educators can only remind us of what we already know.”
  • “We’re all of us a million bits put together the right way.”
  • “The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.”
One thought on “Diary: A Novel by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. Pingback: Diary | Midnight Corner

Leave a Reply

