Postcards

I have been listening to A LOT of This American Life. It’s not a bad thing, but it has certainly made me want to get into a radio career. Some of my favorite episodes includes regular people in large numbers, such as the scream line and the apology line. My favorite thus far though (I just now entered 1999 on the archive; I’m going from 95 up) was the episode where everyone read their letters. It made me think of which letter might be my favorite, as well as upset that I wasn’t significantly older in 1996 (I was 4 when that episode came out).

Well, this is not a radio show, so putting full letters on a blog is kind of ridiculous, especially considering the amount of people I wanted to be involved in the project. So, in an attempt to compromise with myself, I decided postcards were the way to go. I made a Facebook event titled “My Favorite Postcard”, opened it up to anyone, and gave people a month to turn the postcards into me. (I have since made a Facebook page for this blog, so all future event posts will be run through there. Check it out if you haven’t already.)

I was hoping to get 11 people to participate in this, but we only ended up with 5 people, plus myself. Still a pretty good number. I had each person send me the front and back of their postcard, tell me why it was their favorite, and provide a link where you can check them out.

Idafront

Idaback

The first person to send me a postcard was Ida. She, unfortunately, doesn’t have a place for you to find out more about her, which is a shame because she seems like a really neat person. She sent in a postcard dating back to WWI. This one is her favorite because “it was written at the end of WWI, military mail, and what he promised the girl he wrote.” She does not know the people in the postcard, seeing as how she bought it at a stamp show for 25 cents.

img058

img060

Raquel, my favorite penpal, sent in this one. As she put it, “I think of this card every time I eat a pickle.” That sounds reasonable enough.

front

back

Raquel is going to be famous on this post. Natalie, yet another online enigma, sent in this postcard from Raquel. She loves this one because “a.) I love the person I got it from. B.) She knows me well enough to send me bird things. C.) The subject matter; it’s all about our lives as poets, and a publication we both made it into. What could be better than that? To be a poet, befriend such an amazing fellow poet, and make it into the same publication. I hope to be lucky enough to do it again—many times.”

532900_10204082263111723_9090427264767512963_n

10600648_10204082263431731_7047278626237158644_n

My friend, Allison, another online enigma, said this of her postcard: “I got this postcard from Cuba when my Aunt Joan went there for a second time a few years ago. She travels to some interesting places and somehow managed to go to Cuba twice. I find that fascinating.”

Lizfront

Lizback

Liz managed to squeak by the cut off time for receiving the postcards. She brings with her a mystery. “This is my favorite postcard because it was made by hand—a printed out image glued to card stock and a border drawn with marker. It’s not signed, and while I suspect I know who it is from, I’ve never been 100% sure. It’s taken quite the beating, but I love the mermaid and that someone chose to make something for me.”

Fav_Postcard_Front

Postcard_Back

My favorite postcard is also from Raquel, though I knew going into this post that it would be. I love vintage-y feels to postcards, plus this describes Raquel and mine’s penpalling perfectly. It includes a poem, some poet talk, and some of R’s humor, usually sexual.

The next post you’ll see like this will (hopefully) be My First Tattoo. With this new love and appreciation for This American Life, I will be looking for a lot of new voices for the blog. If you would like to contribute, go like the Facebook page or email me at wolfelore@gmail.com. Have a sunshine day!

Leave a Reply

