My Favorite Part Of Christmas

I have recently been giving it some thought about how I really shouldn’t celebrate Christmas anymore, since it’s supposed to be a Christian holiday. Sure, I can celebrate Winter Solstice instead, hand out presents and the like, but I keep running into one problem: What about the tree? How do I justify still putting up a Christmas tree?

You see, I LOVE ornaments. Whenever I go on a trip, my souvenirs are postcards, jewelry, and an ornament. How could I ever do without that?

And because I love ornaments so much, I have decided to catalog all the ones I currently have. You can see my Smores ornaments here. This will give me a chance to post every year with the ornaments I’ve acquired in between the holidays.

So without further ado, ornaments:

This was my first ball ornament. I've always been really skeptical of them because they always seem to be the first to break, but it's Alice In Wonderland! Not to mention it was only $2.99 at the Disney store after Christmas. After Christmas is the best time to go shopping for ornaments.

This was my first ball ornament. I’ve always been really skeptical of them because they always seem to be the first to break, but it’s Alice In Wonderland! Not to mention it was only $2.99 at the Disney store after Christmas. After Christmas is the best time to go shopping for ornaments.

DSC01142

This is my souvenir from my New York trip this year!

DSC01144 DSC01146

DSC01145 DSC01149

DSC01151 DSC01152

DSC01153

An old friend of mine used to make ornaments. She made me the Batman one personally, but the other ones she had sold at a craft fair and they were leftovers.

DSC01197 DSC01196

DSC01155

That baby in there? That’s me. 🙂 I got this ornament from somewhere and put a picture of my grandmother and I. She’s always been such a special person in my life and I surround myself with pictures of her.

DSC01157

So I’m pretty sure I stole this. My brother and I used to argue over whose this was. As you can see, I am the clear winner of this argument. Ornaments are a serious business. I wonder if he remembers this…

DSC01158

Some ornaments, like this one, I keep out year round. I just love the look of this one and hang it up in windows and on shelves.

DSC01163 DSC01166

DSC01167

When my grandmother died, the seven children she had left split up her things, and then it was the grandchildren’s turn. When my mother asked me what I wanted, I said ornaments. I got the deer ornaments and the Santa one. While I don’t remember these on her tree, they are still special to me because they had belonged to her.

 DSC01154

DSC01147

On the note of my grandmother’s death, there are these butterflies. My grandmother used to sew sequins on calendars all the time, and when she was sick, my mother cut out the butterflies from the calendars and made them into a border for my grandmother’s room. When she passed, my mother took the cut-out butterflies and sewed them into ornaments, then passed them out to her brothers and sisters. I don’t know if she gave them to all the grandchildren, but I’m her daughter, so of course I got a few.

 DSC01193

DSC01180 DSC01198

DSC01187 DSC01191

DSC01192  DSC01184

DSC01172  DSC01156

DSC01281 DSC01150

DSC01169

Funny story. I keep this ornament out, and the last time I moved, you could hear him in the box whenever you touched it. He quoted the movie. “Let’s put a smile on that face.” “What was that?” The friend carrying the box asked.

DSC01177

There’s this weird phenomenon where if you have a dog, people get you dog ornaments…whether or not it actually looks like said dog. Buster is not a golden retriever.

DSC01200

Remember this guy? If you’ve been a follower since the beginning, you might remember my first post on this blog. Of course I made myself one. If you’re interested, the tutorial for how to make your own is linked to the picture. Just click on it.

Leave a Reply

