5 Fandom Friday: My Comfort Films

I am not a girly girl. Sure, I wear dresses and makeup and feel myself to be a sometimes fashionista, but I am NOT a girly girl. I hate chick lit, but I hate chick flicks more than all else. That’s why, for my comfort films, you won’t find any on this list. It was tough coming up with the list (because I only really have one), but these tend to be the movies I watch most often.

  1. Batman Forever

bf

You’ve probably stopped reading this post by now, and that’s fine. I love what I love and I’m not ashamed of it. If you’ve been following my blog, you’ve already read this post about why I love this movie, so I’ll try not to get too repetitive.

I can quote this ENTIRE movie right now, just off the top of my head. To say I am infatuated is a complete understatement. A large part of this relies on how in love I am with Jim Carrey and have been since about 6 years old. This is the movie I turn to for everything. I watch it about once every three months, sometimes more. It still drives me crazy that Val Kilmer is Batman, but as far as a comfort film, it does its job. It’s something I know, something I’m familiar with, and something I love. Nothing could make me happier than watching Jim Carrey prance around like a lunatic.

Questions, Mr. Wayne? My work raises too many questions? Why hasn’t anyone…put you in your place?”

  1. Blades Of Glory

bg

For the longest time, I simply did not like Will Ferrell. Now, I don’t understand why. I love his movies, and while Stepbrothers is fantastic, I simply cannot get enough of Blades Of Glory. Hilarious, light-hearted, and a guest appearance by Nick Swardson has me putting this movie as a strong #2 for my top comfort films.

I see you still look like a girl, but not hot.”

  1. Dogma

d

I can only resist the wiles of Ben Affleck and Matt Damon for so long. While I am a devout atheist, I still appreciate this movie and some of the message it has. I’m not a huge fan of the actress, but the rest of the cast really picks up the movie for me. Caution, it does have the tendency to get preachy.

I feel like Han Solo, you’re Chewie, and she’s Ben Kenobi and we’re in that fucked up bar!”

  1. Mulan

m

I wouldn’t classify this as a chick flick. The essential Disneys are family movies, and this is simply one of the best. Maybe it’s just the budding feminist in me, and maybe it’s the fact that I will break out to “I’ll Make A Man Outta You” spontaneously. Fun fact: Halloween 2013, we watched this movie first, before heading out to clubs. It was on, we had a room full of singing Hopkins students, and we couldn’t just leave, you know?

Make a note of this: Dishonor on you, dishonor on your cow!”

  1. Fight Club

Fight-Club-fight-club-4648420-1706-960

Take my favorite author, one of my favorite books, and one of my favorite actors (Edward Norton) and we have the plot to a terrific movie. I can’t express my feelings for this movie in words.

“It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.”

2 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: My Comfort Films

Leave a Reply

