How Drake May Have Saved My Life

As you, regular blog reader, will know, I was out on a “sabbatical” for awhile due to mental health issues. I am still not going into details, but I will talk to you about how I got through it.

As many of you might suspect, my self esteem is minimal. Smaller than an atom. I was made to think that I was never worth anything, and in my low points in life, it grips me hard and practically paralyzes me. I watched all the seasons of Friends, it was that bad. But there was one artist that surprisingly helped me get through this low point: Drake.

Weird, right? According to Let Me Drake That For You, Drake doesn’t care about mental health. His songs are primarily about money and bitches and himself. How could his music ever help me pull through one of the darkest patches in my life?

You know the saying, “Fake it till you make it?” Well, the same could be said about self esteem/self love, and Drake has plenty of love for himself. You can tell by 70% of his song lyrics.

“I swear I love myself cause I swear their life is just not as fun.” -Miss Me, Drake

Rap along to his songs long enough, and you will start to feel empowered, like the Canadian Jewish rapper you actually are on the inside. You will lift up his feeling of invincibility and transfer it over to yourself. Drake is King in the religion of feeling good about yourself.

“And really, I think I like who I’m becoming.” -Crew Love, Drake

Now, I feel like I need to give you the story behind my induction into the Gospel Of Drake to give this more credibility. I didn’t start of loving Drake. In fact, I didn’t even know he was Drake. To me, he was just Jimmy. That’s right, I watched Degrassi. I missed out on USA shows like Saved By The Bell, but I watched the hell out of Degrassi.

Flash forward about five or six years, and everyone keeps talking about this “Drake” character. “Drake this” and “Drake that”. This was around the time Drake Bell was trying to do his own music career, so when people said Drake, I thought they meant him. “No, I don’t like Drake,” I’d respond and kept responding, until “Best I Ever Had” came on the radio. The guy I was dating at the time pointed out that was Drake.

Since then, I’ve listened to him consecutively. His cds rarely leave my car. However, if you had told me he would save my life, I’d still would’ve said, “Pshaw! How?” But his lyrics really did get me through this hard time. Nothing Was Ever The Same didn’t leave my car stereo for a straight month! I can’t say that about really any other artist out there. He was mad when I wanted to be mad. He was confident when I was feeling my most vulnerable. He was there for me when everyone else was too busy focusing on their problems to respect that I had my own.

So Drake, if you’re listening, thanks.

To everyone else, enjoy some more uplifting lyrics.

“I had to prove I made the right decision.” -Underground Kings, Drake

“I might be too strung out on compliments, overdosed on confidence. Started not to give a fuck and stopped fearing the consequences.” -Headlines, Drake

“Last name ever, first name greatest.” -Forever, Drake

“I swear this life is like the sweetest thing I’ve ever known.” -Over, Drake

“Started from the bottom, now we’re here.” -Started From The Bottom, Drake

Leave a Reply

